First Entry

When I first created this website I had a blog page (automatically).  The truth is, I couldn’t think of anything to say at the time.  But I stupidly felt compelled to write something.  Which I did.  It was a lame and vacuous short article about how to choose one’s pastels, sort of intended to be part of a series of helpful articles on the mechanics of pastel painting for beginners.

However… I am not, first and foremost, a pastel artist.  I am, first and foremost, an artist.  Pastels are my medium and, though I love them beyond all reason and will probably never change, what I have to say in my work is my first priority.

Having had some trouble in the recent past describing the kind of art that I do, I was relieved to discover the movement of Remodernism.  My work seemed to fit with its position and aspirations, and it was easier for lazy me to describe the movement as a preface to describing my work.

Before this discovery, I had stumbled on a (to me) brave, inspiring, and validating documentary by the famous (some say infamous) art critic Robert Hughes.  I was to learn later that this documentary serves as rather a bible to many Remodernists.  It is called The Mona Lisa Curse.

So, as the first entry of my experimental blog, I wanted to post this documentary.  Unfortunately, it is not currently available for viewing on YouTube, but below is a lovely excerpt.   Watch for the full feature wherever you rent — it’s well worth it and, even if you don’t agree, it’s extremely educational.


2 responses to “First Entry

  • particledots

    this is great julie
    i am going to seek this out – want to see the whole thing
    i can remember r.hughes on british tv yrs ago – a series called ‘the shock of the new’

  • Julie Rist - Pastel Artist

    You might be able to find it free online somewhere. Here is a brief synopsis:

    “The Mona Lisa Curse is a Grierson award-winning polemic documentary by art critic Robert Hughes that examines how the world’s most famous painting came to influence the art world. With his trademark style, Hughes explores how museums, the production of art and the way we experience it have radically changed in the last 50 years, telling the story of the rise of contemporary art and looking back over a life spent talking and writing about the art he loves, and loathes. Director: Mandy Chang; Executive Producer: Nick Kent; Prod Co: Oxford Film and TV”

    I think it’s fabulous.

Leave a comment